Continuing Education Approvals

I had a wonderful question today…”My state accepts NBCC approved courses, but when I looked on the state website, you were not listed, why?” It can be confusing. States usually list providers who they have approved. These are usually local providers who do not have a need for a national approval like NBCC or NAADAC. However, most states also have a clause in their rules that automatically approve continuing education courses from providers who are approved by NBCC, NAADAC, AAMFT, NASW or a university. These automatically approved providers will generally not have a state approval number, just a national one.  There are a few exceptions to this, so if you are taking a course from a provider who does not have a state approval number, make sure your state accepts their approval body (i.e. NBCC, NAADAC). In your licensure rules, it will read something like the following:

(1) For purposes of renewing or reactivating a license, credit is approved for the following:…
(e) Continuing education programs offered and approved by the following entities as long as such entities impose requirements similar to or more stringent than those imposed by the Board in subparagraphs 64B4-6.004(2)(a)1.-5., F.A.C.:
1. National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC);
2. American Association of Sex Educators Counselors and Therapists (AASECT);
3. American Society of Clinical Hypnosis (ASCH);
4. National Association of Social Work (NASW);
5. American Psychological Association (APA);
6. Clinical Social Work Federation (CSWF);
7. Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB);
8. American Board of Professional Psychology (ABPP);
9. American Psychiatric Association;
10. International Association of Marriage and Family Therapy Counselors (AMFC);
11. American Association of State Counseling Boards (AASCB);
12. American Counseling Association (ACA);
13. American Mental Health Counseling Association (AMHCA);
14. American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT); and
15. Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards (AMFTRB).

Thankfully, there are only a few states such as Ohio and California that require providers to have their particular state certification even if they have national certifications.